The Illini Student Musicals production of Avenue Q will take place at 7:00PM and a 11:30PM at the Canopy Club in Urbana, IL.


Tickets are $10 with a processing fee of $1, and are now on sale! Click the link below to buy tickets.


CONTENT WARNING: Full-frontal puppet nudity and other vulgarities will ensue. This show is intended for mature audiences only. Audience members under the age of 18 will not be permitted into the Canopy Club without a parent or guardian over the age of 18.





Music and Lyrics by Robert Lopez and Jeff Marx 
Book by Jeff Whitty 
Based on an Original Concept by Robert Lopez and Jeff Marx 

Avenue Q is a puppet-filled comedy that follows a group of 20-somethings seeking their purpose in big-city life. 

Winner of the Tony Award "Triple Crown" for Best Musical, Best Score, and Best Book, Avenue Q is part flesh, part felt, and packed with heart.

The laugh-out-loud musical tells the timeless story of a recent college grad named Princeton who moves into a shabby New York apartment all the way out on Avenue Q. He soon discovers that although the residents seem nice, it's clear that this is not your ordinary neighborhood. Together, Princeton and his new-found friends struggle to find jobs, dates, and their ever-elusive purpose in life.

Filled with gut-busting humor and a delightfully catchy score, not to mention puppets, Avenue Q is a truly unique show that has quickly become a favorite for audiences everywhere. Although the show addresses humorous adult issues, it is similar to a beloved children's show; a place where puppets are friends, monsters are good, and life lessons are learned.


We are thrilled to announce the cast of the ISM production of Avenue Q.


Kate Monster

Gary Coleman




Christmas Eve



Bad Idea Bear

Bad Idea Bear

Ensemble / Mrs. T



Brandon Saposnik

Carly Graham

Deepa Suneel

David Naber

James Koh

Michael Pirovano

Melisa Puthenmadom

Sam Decker

Maureen Sanderson

Jon Stricker

Nick Humbles

Michael Lorimer

Luke Schulz

Anne Deichert


We are still seeking qualified persons for several positions. If you are interested in being on the production staff for this production please email Brandon Saposnik, ISM Secretary at



Music Director / Orchestra Director:

Asst. Orchestra Director:

Vocal Director:

Asst. Vocal Director:

Choreographer / Movement Director:

Co-Technical Director:

Co-Technical Director:

Stage Manager:

Asst. Stage Manager:

Asst. Stage Manager:

Scenic Designer:

Puppet Master:

Sound Designer:

Asst. Sound Designer:

Lighting Designer:

Asst. Lighting Designer:

Costume Designer:

Hair and Makeup Designer:

Props Coordinator:

Marketing and Public Relations:

Production Assistant:

Production Assistant:

Rehearsal Accompanist:

Rehearsal Accompanist:

Rehearsal Accompanist:


Asst. Producer:

House Manager:

Stephanie Svarz

John Lattanzi

Rose Craig

William Purcell

Gabriella Ciametti

Rose Craig

Lauren Brooks

Katyana Palafox

Alexander Richardson

Emilee McArdle

Sara Camp

Kirsten Vold

Katyana Palafox

Nic Morse

Tyler Knowles

Karen Lee

Aaron Lichamer

Andrew Xu

Sarah Sensenbrenner

Sarah Sensenbrenner

Tommy Orr

Maggie Boland

Kevin O'Keefe


Shawn Lu

Brandon Jarot

Matt Woytek

Austin Errera




Every ISM production is proudly played by a live orchestra pit. This production will feature:

Keyboard 1

Keyboard 2








Rose Craig

Shivani Dharmasankar

Amy Mullard

Joey Butler

Taylor Kellum

Audrey Levengood

Bao Vo

William Purcell

Brandon Jarot

Contact Us

For general inquiries, please email the board of directors at

To join our mailing list and receive updates about ISM, please email the secretary at

284 Illini Union 1401 W. Green St. Urbana, IL 61801