The Illini Student Musicals production of Godspell: The Revised 2012 Broadway Edition will take place on November 13th at 7:30PM and 14th at 2:30PM and 7:30PM at Greg Hall Theater at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.


To see production photos from Godspell, click here!


Book by John Michael Tebelak 
Music and New Lyrics by Stephen Schwartz 
Conceived and Originally Directed by John Michael Tebelak 
Based on The Gospel According to St. Matthew 

A masterful retelling of the original sensation, injected with contemporary references and dazzling new arrangements. 

Godspell was the first major musical theatre offering from 3-time Grammy and Academy Award winner Stephen Schwartz (Wicked, Pippin, Children Of Eden); and it took the world by storm. Led by the international hit, "Day By Day," Godspell features a parade of beloved songs including "Prepare Ye The Way Of The Lord," "Learn Your Lessons Well," "All For The Best," "All Good Gifts," "Turn Back, O Man" and "By My Side."


A small group of people help Jesus Christ tell different parables by using a wide variety of games, storytelling techniques, and hefty dose of comic timing. An eclectic blend of songs ranging in style from pop to vaudeville is employed as the story of Jesus's life dances across the stage. Dissolving hauntingly into the Last Supper and the Crucifixion, Jesus's messages of kindness, tolerance, and love come vibrantly to life. 

To check out some amazing photos from Godspell, please click here! Many thanks to Bennett Kosma Photography for providing our wonderful production photos!


Orchestra Director

Rehearsal Accompanist



Guitar 1

Guitar 2

Guitar 3


Griffin Jenkins

Griffin Jenkins

Nate Murphy

Cody Jones

David Simley

Jacob Heglund

Pawel Grimm

Alex Jahnke



Judas/John the Baptist



Learn Your Lessons Well

O Bless the Lord

All Good Gifts

Light of the World

Turn Back, O Man

We Beseech Thee

By My Side




Ryan Kirby

David Naber



Jon Faw

Alyssa Parsons

Merrill Huang

James Koh

Maureen Sanderson

Yvon Streacker

Katie Burke

Amelia Inglis


Joshua Altshuler

Jake Fava

Tucker Nevel

Nick Humbles

Aleeza Leder Macek

Mary Di Leo

Anne Deichert



Asst. Director:

Vocal Director:

Orchestra Director:


Asst. Choreographer:

Stage Manager:

Asst. Stage Manager:

Scenic Designer:

Technical Director:

Asst. Tech Director:

Sound Designer:

Asst. Sound Designer:

Lighting Designer:

Asst. Lighting Designer:

Asst. Lighting Designer:

Lighting Consultant:

Costume Designer:

Hair and Makeup Designer:

Props Manager:

Stephanie Svarz

Jonathan Hellman

Syrus White

Griffin Jenkins

Isiah Asplund

Lauren Brooks

Kirsten Vold

Jordan Jones

Katyana Palafox

Rebecca Valhdick

Alaa Qarooni

Karen Lee

Cathy Li

Andrew Xu

Matthew Gross

Tessa Muriello

Daniel Lee

Emma Ash

Brett Cohen

Bianca Perez